Scotland coach Bryan Easson has named three uncapped players in his 30-woman squad for next month’s WXV2 tournament in South Africa. Centre Holly McIntyre impressed after being selected for the wider training squad announced last month, and she is joined by newcomers Fiona McIntosh, a lock, and Demi Swann, a Canadian-born prop who qualifies as her mother is from Troon.

"Demi is from a wrestling background and has fought at a high level in Canada,” Easson said of Swann. “She has been looked at by the Canada 15s squad as well, but we’ve been feeding her Irn-Bru and haggis so she’s feeling extremely Scottish now.

“Fee McIntosh is someone we’ve been speaking to for a while, but she was finishing off her studies. She has finished them now and is desperate to come in. 

“And Holly McIntyre has come through and done really well. She has really kicked on and has deservedly got her place."

READ MORE: Gray insists Scotland are focused ahead of Tonga clash

Four regular members of Easson’s squad will miss out on the new competition because of injury. Hooker Molly Wright and scrum-half Jenny Maxwell are still completing their recoveries from long-term concerns, while more recently back-three player Shona Campbell sustained a shoulder injury with the GB 7s squad and centre Evie Wills damaged an ACL in training with her new club Leicester.

Emma Wassell, who missed this year’s Six Nations with a knee injury, is a doubt for the friendly against Spain a week on Saturday. However, she will definitely be able to play in WXV2, in which Scotland meet Japan, the United States and the host nation.

Scotland squad for WXV 2:

Forwards (17): Leah Bartlett (Leicester Tigers), Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning), Sarah Bonar (Harlequins), Elliann Clarke (Bristol Bears), Lisa Cockburn (University of Worcester Warriors), Eva Donaldson (Leicester Tigers), Evie Gallagher (University of Worcester Warriors), Jade Konkel (Harlequins), Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning, captain), Elis Martin (Leicester Tigers), Fiona McIntosh (Saracens), Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks), Louise McMillan (Saracens), Lana Skeldon (University of Worcester Warriors), Demi Swann (University of Worcester Warriors), Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning), Anne Young (Sale Sharks).

Backs (13): Beth Blacklock (Saracens), Coreen Grant (Saracens), Caity Mattinson (University of Worcester Warriors), Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs), Francesca McGhie (Leicester Tigers), Holly McIntyre (University of Edinburgh), Rhona Lloyd (GB 7s / Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais), Liz Musgrove (Ealing Trailfinders), Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning), Emma Orr (Heriot's / Biggar), Lisa Thomson (GB 7s), Chloe Rollie (Loughborough Lightning), Meryl Smith (Bristol Bears).