What a silly man. With the petulance of a schoolboy having a hissy fit and saying ‘it’s my fitba and if I’m not Roy Race then we’re not playing’, Sergio Garcia added another chapter to his dodgy dossier of temper tantrums after being disqualified from the Saudi International at the weekend. The fiery Spaniard took his frustrations out on a couple of greens and was charged with ‘serious misconduct’ by the European Tour. According to reports, though, it appears there will be no further action.

Here's Sergio in a bunker, as the meltdown moves up a few gears ...

You can read more about seething Sergio and catch up with all the weekend’s to-ings and fro-ings below …

JOHNSON HOPES FOR SAUDI SPRINGBOARD

HeraldScotland:

Dustin Johnson believes his two-stroke win in the inaugural Saudi International on Sunday will stand him in good stead for another successful year.

The world number three came from one stroke down at the turn to fire a three-under-par final round of 67 and see off his nearest challenger Li Haotong.

The Chinese player had gone into the final 18 on a high after firing four eagles, including a record-breaking three eagle twos, in his third-round 62.

But he fell away over the second half on Sunday, a birdie on the last just enough to see him hold second over England's fast-finishing Tom Lewis, who hit a five-under-par final round of 65.

Johnson told a press conference: "It feels really good - any time you win a professional golf tournament, no matter where it is in the world, it is a big win.

"The things that I've been working on are working and I've still got a lot of room for improvement. I'm very pleased with where my game is at.

"I've got a lot of confidence in what I'm doing and I feel like I'm hitting a lot of really good golf shots. It's a big win and it gives me a lot of confidence going into the rest of the year."

Johnson and Li went into the final round level but two early birdies gave the Chinese player the advantage at the turn.

It was a remarkable response from Li, who seven days earlier had been handed a two-stroke penalty at the Dubai Desert Classic for a breach of controversial new alignment rules.

Just when Johnson looked to have wrested the initiative he hit his tee shot into the water at the short 16th and was forced to take a drop, holing a subsequent bogey putt which saw his lead cut to one.

But Johnson responded with consecutive birdies on the final two holes to secure his first European Tour win, and one which the vanquished Li did not begrudge.

Li told a press conference: "I think he deserved to win this event. But I learned a lot and especially those last few holes were good for me."

Lewis finished three shots off the lead after a blazing start to his final round, recording five consecutive birdies over the first five holes.

Yet his round was eclipsed by South Korea's Lee Min-woo, who finished a stroke further back after his second consecutive seven-under-par 63.

A four-under-par final round made Ian Poulter the next best-placed Briton in sixth, while Bradley Dredge and Ross Fisher were in a share of 13th.

Scots rookie Liam Johnston finished a in a tie for 30th on five-under while Bob MacIntyre, the only other home hopeful to make the cut, shared 44th.

CASE CLOSED ON GARCIA TANTRUM

HeraldScotland:

Former Masters champion Sergio Garcia looks set to escape further punishment following his shock disqualification from the inaugural Saudi International.

Garcia was disqualified for "serious misconduct" under rule 1.2a after admitting to damaging greens on the front nine of Royal Greens Golf & Country Club during Saturday's third round.

It is far from Garcia's first brush with authority and led to calls on social media for the 39-year-old to face a hefty fine or suspension, but European Tour chief executive Keith Pelley told the Scotsman: "The incident is over. We have dealt with it. Sergio has apologised to the players and we move on."

England's Robert Rock, who was in a group playing behind Garcia, also appeared to be willing to forgive and forget, telling the newspaper: "I have spoken to Sergio about it. He faced up to it and we are fine. Everyone makes a mistake at some point.

"It was scuff marks and also a mark that appeared to have been made by what looked to have been a putter. Scuff marks really show up on these grainy greens.

"Even if you drag the sole of your shoe without meaning to, it pulls up the grass. The greens are good with no bald patches and scuff marks certainly show up."

Garcia apologised for his actions in a statement which read: "I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again."

RICKIE’S ROLLERCOASTER ENDS IN TRIUMPH

HeraldScotland:

Rickie Fowler somehow survived a rollercoaster final round to claim his fifth PGA Tour title and a first for two years in the Waste Management Phoenix Open.

Fowler looked set to squander a five-shot lead with just eight holes to play when he chipped into the water on the 11th and then, after taking a penalty drop and walking away to survey his next shot, saw his ball roll back into the hazard.

After a discussion with PGA Tour rules official Slugger White, that meant another penalty drop and in the end Fowler did remarkably well to chip to 15 feet and hole the putt for a demoralising triple-bogey seven.

It was no surprise that the 30-year-old also bogeyed the next and found himself a shot behind a charging Branden Grace, but Fowler drew level with a birdie on the 15th before it was Grace's turn to implode by driving into the water on the short par-four 17th.

Grace compounded the error by chipping into a greenside bunker and did well to salvage a bogey, but Fowler then drove the green on the same hole and two-putted from 55 feet for a decisive birdie.

A par on the last gave Fowler a closing 74 and a two-shot victory over Grace, with world number Justin Thomas a shot further back after a round of 72.

Fowler, who had also double-bogeyed the fifth hole, told Sky Sports: "It was a bit of a rollercoaster, but other than two holes I felt like it was a decent round of golf considering the conditions.

"I did a decent job of getting past the two holes which cost us five shots today. A bad break with the ball rolling back into the water but we moved on and that's what's nice about having a cushion after 54 holes, it allows you to make mistakes. You don't have to be perfect.

"So to step up and play the way I did the last four or five holes was nice.

"I have been in this position a lot and know it can go the right way or the wrong way. At the end of the day winning is amazing, but there are a lot bigger things in life. If I hadn't won today the sun is still going to rise tomorrow. That was a calming factor."

Inverness exile Russell Knox closed with a 68 for share of 10th with Glasgow’s Martin Laird back in 26th.

BLACK AND WHITE? NO, JUST MORE GREY AREAS ...

The amendments to the Rules of Golf seem to be gaining more dodgy headlines than a tipsy celebrity tottering out of a nightclub.

Hot on the heels of Li Haotong's contentious penalty last week, another 'caddie lining up his player' stooshie was whipped up at the Phoenix Open. The R&A and the USGA, the game's governing bodies, held their hands up late on Friday night and admitted the official got the rulling wrong. Watch it and read more about it below ...

McCarthy's two-stroke penalty incurred at the Waste Management Phoenix Open on Friday has been rescinded by the PGA Tour.

American McCarthy was penalised by two shots under Rule 10.2b(4), which does not allow caddies to stand behind players as they line up their shot.

But golf's ruling bodies, The Royal & Ancient and the United States Golf Association, have said the penalty should not have been applied and the Tour has reversed the initial decision made during the second round.

In a joint statement the R&A and USGA said: "Following an ongoing dialogue with players and in co-operation with the PGA Tour rules team, The R&A and the USGA revisited the penalty assessed to Denny McCarthy during round two of the Waste Management Open.

"After an additional review of available video (on Saturday) morning, it was determined that the penalty would not apply in this instance nor in a similar instance involving Justin Thomas.

"In each of these cases, when the caddie was standing behind the player, the player had not yet begun taking the stance for the stroke, nor could useful guidance on aiming be given because the player was still in the process of determining how to play the stroke.

"The same would be true for any similar situation that might occur."

The R&A and the USGA said clarity on how to appropriately apply the rule was needed and that they "will provide the necessary clarifications in the coming days".

During last week's Omega Dubai Desert Classic, Li Haotong was penalised two shots because his caddie was on a direct line behind the ball when he began to take his stance on the green.

European Tour chief executive Keith Pelley expressed his concern at the "grossly unfair" penalty, which meant defending champion Li dropped from a tie for third to a tie for 12th, costing him more than 80,000 euros (£70,000).

But after reviewing Li's case The R&A released a statement last Sunday saying the referees had correctly applied a two-shot penalty in that instance.

Are we all clear on that then? Probably not ...

IT'S A STUPID GAME ...

You've just cracked a pearler out of the screws, the drive has found the green and you're putting for an eagle. What can possibly go wrong?