TWO popular television shows written by the same Scottish writer, Steven Moffat, are to go head-to-head in the National Television Awards.

Both Doctor Who and Sherlock have been shortlisted for the best drama prize in the annual awards, while the respective stars of the shows, Matt Smith and Benedict Cumberbatch, are both in the running for best male actor.

Doctor Who is up for a third award as the Doctor's former assistant, Scottish actress Karen Gillan, has been nominated for the best actress prize.

Loading article content

She competes against comedy star Miranda Hart for her role in Call The Midwife, Suranne Jones for Scott and Bailey and Sheridan Smith for Mrs Biggs.

Sherlock and Doctor Who line up against ITV's Downton Abbey for the best drama prize, with the category completed by fantasy series Merlin.

Colin Morgan, the star of Merlin, which finished last month, is also up for best actor along with Cumberbatch, who plays Sherlock Holmes in the updated take on the Conan Doyle mysteries, Smith for his role as the Doctor and Daniel Mays for his performance as Ronnie Biggs in Mrs Biggs.

BBC1 singing contest The Voice joins established ratings heavyweights Britain's Got Talent, Dancing On Ice, Strictly Come Dancing and The X Factor in the top talent show shortlist.

The Great British Bake Off makes its debut on the shortlist as it lines up against The Apprentice, Top Gear and Paul O'Grady's For The Love Of Dogs for the best factual entertainment prize.

Ant and Dec, who have won the best entertainment prize for 11 consecutive years, could extend their run as they are shortlisted yet again, this time against Alan Carr, Keith Lemon and Dermot O'Leary.

Ant and Dec are up for a further prize as their show I'm A Celebrity ... Get Me Out Of Here! is nominated for the entertainment programme award, against Alan Carr: Chatty Man, The Graham Norton Show and The Only Way Is Essex.

Meanwhile, Sir David Attenborough's Frozen Planet is one of the nominations for best documentary series.

Organisers of the 18th annual event will also celebrate the success of the Olympics and Paralympics with a special award and will celebrate favourite moments from the sporting spectacular.

Prizes will be handed out at a ceremony at London's O2 Arena on January 23. Viewers will be able to vote for the winners of the awards from today.