• Text size      
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Paul Hutcheon named journalist of the year at Scottish Press Awards

Herald and Times reporter Paul Hutcheon has been named journalist of the year at the Scottish Press Awards.

The accolade was one of two prizes picked up by Hutcheon at the prestigious event in Glasgow.

He was also named political journalist of the year, while David Pratt won the feature writer of the year award.

Five Herald and Times staff members narrowly missed out on awards at the ceremony, with Steven Camley (cartoonist of the year), Ian Bell (columnist of the year), Susan Swarbrick (sports feature writer of the year), Neil Mackay (arts/entertainment journalist of the year) and Gerry Braiden (reporter of the year) taking the runner-up place in their categories.

Former Herald writers Ben Riley-Smith and Steven Vass came second in the young journalist of the year and business writer of the year categories respectively, while the Sunday Herald Life app was runner-up in the innovation of the year category.

Herald and Times staff secured 25 entries in the short-list for this year's awards.

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on HeraldScotland on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis.
If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.