PREMIERSHIP champions Celtic have landed a hat-trick of award nominations after Fraser Forster, Virgil van Dijk and Kris Commons were put forward for the PFA Scotland Player of the Year gong.

Neil Lennon's Hoops have eased to their third successive top-flight title this term and have dominated the shortlist for the top award, which is voted for by players.

Kilmarnock striker Kris Boyd is the only non-Parkhead star to be listed for the top-flight prize as the Celtic trio battle it out to add the trophy to the Premiership winner's medal they have already clinched this term.

Loading article content

In the Young Player of the Year category, Scottish Cup finalists Dundee United and St Johnstone dominate the shortlist.

Arabs trio Andrew Robertson, Stuart Armstrong and Ryan Gauld have all been nominated by their peers, while striker Stevie May is also recognised after a superb scoring season for the Saints.

The awards, sponsored by Cheque Centre, will be presented at the PFA dinner on Sunday, April 27.

PFA Scotland chief executive Fraser Wishart said: "This is the top award for players. There is no greater honour in football than to be voted the best player in your country by your fellow-professionals."

Andy Deller, managing director for Cheque Centre, added: "We are delighted to be involved in what is surely the football night of the year. It is an honour for the players to be nominated by their fellow-professionals and we are proud to play a part in proceedings."