It was the survival of the wettest at Ayr Northfield as persistent rain spoiled the annual Bowls Scotland National Championship showcase, where 10 titles were on offer across in the men's and women's competitions.

The weather, though, did nothing to dampen the enthusiasm of the 44 players vying for the titles. Pride of place went to Linlithgow's Lorna Smith who took the blue riband singles title for the third time in a row. Smith lined up in the title decider against 2006 title holder and 2007 British Isles Champion Kathy Houston from Paisley Caledonia.

And the Linlithgow player was sublime in only dropping four of the 14-end final as she eased through 21-4.

Loading article content

The men's principal singles title went to 28-year-old Kevin Anderson who regained the crown for his Dumbarton club for the first time since it was won by Ernie Johnston in 1961. Anderson was made to work hard to secure his 21-16 victory, in what was easily the best match on the green. Anderson trailed 9-6 at nine ends to Eaglesham's Alan Gray, a beaten semi-finalist last season, but only dropped five more counts, scoring the vital match winners on the 20th end where he rolled in a treble to take the title.

Glasgow clubs won the men's and women's junior under-25 singles titles with Hyndland's Callum Taggart surprisingly dominating from the off against Christopher Stein from Markinch. He took a 12-1 eight end lead before Stein noted his intent, but Taggart did not sign off until seven ends later with a double on the 15th to secure his victory.

Garrowhill's Laura Welsh regained the title she last held in 2012. She gave every ounce of her being to come back after trailing 7-0 after just four ends against Falkirk's Nicola Bell, producing a grandstand finish, where she dropped only two more singles before a single on the 16th end gave her the thumbs-up 21-9 win.

In the mens' pair final, Commonwealth Games gold medallist Paul Foster, with partner Colin Howie, went down to Campbeltown's John McLean and Jimmy Anderson. The Troon pair led 8-6, but they scored on only one of the remaining eight ends and threw in the towel at 17-10.

In the women's pairs final, Uphall Station duo Sandra Steven and Kirsteen McLelland were trailing Sorn's Jane Fowler and Catherine Druggan 9-7 at 10 ends, but reeled off 14 shots over the next five ends to take the title with an end to spare.

Denny's Paul McAteer, Darren Couper and Stuart Hogg also produced a stunning fightback. Trailing David Blades Airdrie Central trio 18-11 the conjured up a 1, 2, 2 and a magical treble on the last four ends to edge a 19-18 victory.

It was a similar story for Ardross Alness trio Liz Stewart, Elspeth Brett and Meggie McDonald as they stormed home with three doubles and a treble to win 20-10 over Maureen Kidd's Airdrie triple.

In the fours, Steven Scott, Marco Pellegrini, Stephen Lowrie Snr and Marcus McGowan from Pollokshaws held on to deny Tam Russell's Bonnyrigg rink, while Newton Park romped to the women's fours title where Anne Brown skipped Liz Nelson, mother-in-law Liz Campbell and Jane Spence to the silverware.