• Text size      
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Froome signs new Team Sky contract

Chris Froome, the winner of this year's Tour de France, is one of 10 riders to sign new contracts with Team Sky for 2014.

Peter Kennaugh, David Lopez and Ian Stannard were part of the line-up which helped Froome succeed Bradley Wiggins - who is heading into the final year of his contract with the team - as Britain's second winner of Le Tour.

Luke Rowe, Salvatore Puccio, Sergio Henao, Chris Sutton, Danny Pate and Xabier Zandio have also signed alongside Froome. Two of the 28-year-old's key support riders - Richie Porte and Geraint Thomas - had already extended their contracts mid-season.

"This has been an incredible year for me and I'm delighted to finish it off by signing a new contract with Team Sky," said Froome. "I've been with this team since the start and I know this is the right place for me to continue to grow as a rider. It's an honour to be a Team Sky rider and I hope to play a big part of its success for years to come."

That enthusiasm was also echoed by Rod Ellingworth, the team's performance manager. "We've consolidated what is an incredibly strong group of guys," he said.

Contextual targeting label: 
Arts and Entertainment

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on HeraldScotland on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis.
If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.