Scotland took the Women’s Under-25 Home International Series by two clear points at Islwyn last night and stopped an eighth championships win in a row by England.

The Scots went into the deciding session with a two point advantage, drawing 2-2 with England and whitewashing Wales 4-0 in their first session, and it was the same story yesterday in their second lot of matches as the chalked up their second 6-2 overall victory against England and Wales.scotland 

Over the two days team captain Claire Walker from Blantyre guided her rink of Stonehaven’s Lauren Roddie, Dawn Anderson from Prestwick and Garioch’s Carla Banks to two credible victories, beating England’s Chelsea Tomlin and Gemma Amon from Wales and they finished as the second top rink of the series, just one point behind England’s Katherine Rednall.

Loading article content

Dumbarton’s Emma McIntyre’s rink of Auchinleck’s Stephanie Wallace, Karen Magee from West of Scotland and Abbeyview’s Mhairi McCall also finished with two wins while Ardrossan’s Natalie Kyle and West of Scotland’s Rachael Sinclair both won one game and lost one.

Meanwhile, Scotland’s Under 25 team head to Newport this week-end hoping the regain the Men’s Junior Home International Series the last held in 2015.

Last year in Bristol they lost in the title decider to England 90-62 with only Callum Taggart’s team posting a winning score from the four rinks.

Taggart however is now over the age limit and while Blantyre’s Mark O’Hagan and Connor Milne from Turriff retain their skips position, the other two rinks will be headed by Inverclyde’s John Fleming and Ryan Burnett who retains his membership at Arbroath, despite living in Australia.

Burnett was the team captain when the Scots won the title two years ago in Glasgow without dropping a point and has been recalled.

New caps Joe Mower from East Lothian will play third to Fleming while East Kilbride’s John Orr makes his debut as second in the rink skipped by Milne.

The Scots get their challenge up and running against Wales on Saturday morning followed by Ireland in the afternoon and complete the Series against England on Sunday.

England have won the title nine times in total since the event started in 2000, Scotland have been successful seven times and Wales once.