THE Winners of the 2018 Scottish Awards for New Music (SAFNM) have been announced following an event hosted by The Herald's music writer, and broadcaster, Kate Molleson, at the Drygate Brewery in Glasgow.

New Music Performers of the Year went to Mr McFall’s Chamber while the Contribution to New Music in Scotland was given to Sir James MacMillan.

The Award for Large Scale New Work went to Shiori Usui, while Matthew Grouse won the small scale new work.

Wind Resistence by Pippa Murphy and Karine Polwart won the innovation in new folk music award, while the Hebrides Ensemble won the Recorded New Work Prize.

Michael Begg won the award for electroacoustic/sound art, while Martin Kershaw took the innovation in New Jazz Music prize.

Sonica festival took the Creative Programming award, while there were joint winners of the Community and Education prize in The Cumnock Tryst and the Red Note Ensemble.

The Award for Collaboration in New Music went to Aeolian by Kathy Hinde/Andreas Borregaard/Maja S.K. Ratkje/Red Note Ensemble

EMERGING Critics, a free programme of mentoring and discussion, is looking for new talent.

The deadline for mentee applications to the scheme, run by the Scottish Review of Books and Creative Scotland, is on 14 March.

They are looking for a new group of emerging critics who want to improve their skills and knowledge.

In the last round it concentrated on Literary Criticism, this time around it is opening up to all those who want to be involved in Arts Criticism, in the worlds of Literature, Performance or Visual Arts.

Mentees receive small group mentoring over a tenth month period from one of Scotland’s leading arts journalists.

An application should include three examples of recently written criticism (published or unpublished), a letter explaining why the applicant is seeking a place on the programme and a CV.

AN artist has been voted President of the Glasgow Art Club.

Joe Hargan, an artist member, is to succeed Lay President, Efric McNeil, the first female president of the organisation.

Mr Hargan was unanimously elected at the Annual Business Meeting held at the end of February.

He studied Painting and Drawing at the Glasgow School of Art from 1970-74 under Danny Ferguson, James Robertson and David Donaldson.

He was elected a member of GAC in 1981. In 1985 he became a member of the Paisley Art Institute and later that year elected a council member. In 1989 he was nominated and voted Chairman and President of the Art Institute.

He has exhibited regularly since the early 1970`s at the Royal Glasgow Institute of Art; Royal Society of Watercolour; Royal Scottish Academy of Art; The Paisley Art Institute; Royal Academy, London; Dick Institute, Kilmarnock; British Watercolour Society & National Portrait Gallery.