Finalists across nine categories have been revealed for this year’s sixth annual awards run by the Business Women Scotland network. 

Working in industries ranging from food, beauty and tourism to property and engineering, the winners will be announced at a virtual event on November 6. This will feature main speaker Lara Morgan, who founded her first business, Pacific Direct, at the age of 23 and went on to sell her majority share in the operation 20 years later for £20 million. 

“It is heart-warming to see so many talented women, across the board, succeeding in business – especially in these challenging times,” Ms Morgan said. “I congratulate each and every one of the finalists on their hard-earned, well-deserved success. 

READ MORE: Female-led businesses in Scotland have been 'hit harder' by Covid-19

“Many thanks too to Business Women Scotland, which plays a valuable role in bringing these women together and offering them a support umbrella under which they can network and learn from each other.” 

Lynne Kennedy, founder of Business Women Scotland, said the group was “overwhelmed” by the amount of entries this year. New categories in 2020, to reflect the unparalleled economic climate, include Resilient Woman of the Year, Social Impact of the Year and Business Growth of the Year. 

“This has been an extremely tough year for everyone in business, but this proves that women in business in Scotland want to celebrate their achievements,” Ms Kennedy said. 

The full list of finalists: 

Board Member of the Year 


Amanda Cameron – DM Hall 

Lesley Judge – Women in Tourism 

Sue Bomphray – Scottish Veteran Residences 

Business Woman of the Year 


Hayley Wilkes – WeeCOOK 

Lisa Thomson – Purpose HR 

Sarra Bejaoui – SmartPA 

Tracy Clark – ITC Hydraulics 

Established Business of the Year 


Karen Somerville – Angels Share 

Lisa Thomson – Purpose HR 

Michelle Milnes – Property Studios 

Tracy Clark – ITC Hydraulics 

Inspirational Woman of the Year 


Amanda Cameron – DM Hall 

Ceri Ritchie – SAC Consulting 

Susie Fraser – Adeo Group 

Resilient Woman of the Year 


Hayley Wilkes – WeeCOOK 

Louise Cameron – ICTS 

Megan MacDonald – Sandwick Bay Candles 

Michelle Milnes – Property Studios 

Rachel Kirkpatrick – Rose Wellbeing Therapies 

Susie Anderson – East Coast Cured 

Tracey Hogarth – Nudie Snacks 

Rising Star of the Year 


Emma Mulraine – Behind the Scenes VA 

Karris Gill – Social Stories Club 

Katie Murrie – Service Design Academy/Dundee & Angus College 

Megan MacDonald – Sandwick Bay Candles 

Social Impact of the Year 


Claire Murray – Emotion Works 

Elaine Brown – Edinburgh Remakery  

Gillian Urquart – Moira Anderson Foundation 

Hayley Mearns – Voluntary Action Angus 

Jill McWilliam – Doric TV 

 Sole Trader of the Year 


Francia Boakye – Frank Francia 

Hayley Yule – Hy Marketing 

Mhairi Mackenzie – Bonnie Bling 

Start-Up Business of the Year 


Alison Wood – Lilypads 

Kirsten Bell – myTOT 

Melodie Paterson – Heather Street Food