The SNP has taken control of another former Labour council with the support of Conservative councillors, one of whom becomes provost.

East Ayrshire was tied at 14 councillors each for Labour and SNP with three Tories and one Independent.

At a vote yesterday the Tory councillor Stephanie Young was elected provost and the SNP's Douglas Reid and Ian Linton become leader and deputy leader respectively.

The council will operate a cabinet government with eight members, seven of whom are SNP. It was previously under Labour control with a majority of 14.

Meanwhile, Labour has managed to retain control of Midlothian Council after it emerged as the biggest party but with no majority. Labour has nine councillors and the SNP and Libdems a combined total of nine.

They elected Labour councillor Adam Montgomery as provost and Labour's Derek Milligan council leader.

Midlothian is one of only four councils with a Labour administration. Glasgow and North Lanarkshire have a majority, while North Ayrshire will run as a Labour-led alliance council.

Perth and Kinross also agreed a new administration with an SNP LibDem coalition.

In Aberdeenshire the LibDems and Conservatives will share power and in Scottish Borders a Conservative, LibDem and Independent grouping will run the administration.

Renfrewshire Council yesterday formally approved the deal agreed last week between the SNP and LibDems to take over from Labour.

Falkirk Council decides today. Labour, with 14 councillors, is one seat ahead of the SNP, with three independents and two Tories.

On Monday SNP councillors in South Ayrshire are expected to agree to the Conservatives forming a minority administration.

The Conservatives have 12 seats to Labour's 9, with the SNP on 8. The Tories said it was not a coalition but an agreement to allow them to form a minority administration and get the council up and running.

Sandy Park, an independent councillor from Nairn, was confirmed as convener of Highland Council yesterday as a coalition between the independent and SNP groups formed the authority's first ruling administration.

His vice-convener is Jean Urquhart, an SNP councillor from Ullapool. They were elected at the first meeting of the 80-strong council which has 34 Independent councillors, 22 Liberal Democrat, 17 SNP and seven Labour.

The Liberal Democrats and Labour will form a coalition opposition.

In Argyll and Bute, councillor William Petrie (Alliance of Independent Councillors) was elected convener while SNP councillor Isobel Strong became vice-convener.

In the Western Isles Independent councillor Alex MacDonald was elected convener for a third time and Angus Campbell returned as vice-convener.

All councils have to be settled by next Thursday.