The nominations for the Scottish Fashion Awards are announced today, with both newcomers and more established talents recognised for their achievements.

Nominees are unveiled in seven categories for the second annual awards, organised by the TFF Agency, sponsored by jeweller Hamilton & Inches. Previous winners such as Christopher Kane and Jonathan Saunders are shortlisted while emerging talents such as Scott Ramsay Kyle and Jamie Bruski Tetsill are also honoured.

The judges include leading figures in the industry such as Kate Phelan, fashion director of British Vogue, and Jennifer Uner, founder of the LA Fashion Awards, which offer an exchange programme with their Scottish equivalent.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on September 9 in Stirling Castle, hosted by TV presenter Jenni Falconer.

Jamie Fraser, managing director of Hamilton & Inches and the awards chairman, said: "In only its second year the Scottish Fashion Awards are already proving their worth and importance to Scotland."

The shortlists include several designers already chosen to showcase their talents at this year's London Fashion Week under the umbrella of Glasgow: Scotland With Style Design Collective. They are Christopher Kane, Deryck Walker, Jamie Bruski Tetsill, Scott Ramsay Kyle and Vidler Nixon.

An eighth category, the Scottish Fashion Icon Award, will honour an individual who is well known for looking good on the red carpet. It will be voted for by readers of The Herald and the shortlist will be unveiled in this week's Saturday magazine.

Profiles of the nominees for the seven categories will feature weekly in the magazine until the ceremony.

The winner of the International Designer Award will be announced during the awards, and one person with an outstanding career in the industry will be inducted into the Scottish Fashion Awards Hall of Fame at a special pre-awards event. The Herald is the awards' media partner.