SCOTLAND's biggest Gaelic cultural festival has been declared a 'tremendous' success on its return to Oban for the first time in six years.

Thousands of competitors have converged from as far afield as Canada, the USA and Germany for the Royal National Mòd, which runs until Saturday.

A Glasgow accountant won the title of best overall piper on the opening day of competitions at the Royal National Mòd in Oban on Saturday.

Jonathan Greenlees won the James R Johnston Memorial Trophy in the Ceòl Mòr. He also beat seven other pipers, competing in Gaeldom's premier festival, to win best overall piper on his aggregate marks in the senior competitions.

Mr Greenlees, who has been playing the pipes since he was eleven, said: "This is the third time I have won the overall (piping) at the mod.

"I don't know any of my generation in the family that play the pipes, but I had two great, great uncles, who were killed in the First World War within two days of each other, who were both pipers in The Royal Scots."

Chief executive John Morrison said: “It has been a tremendous start.

"We e have seen the bar set for the rest of the festival week’s competitions"

Children’s competitions will continue today and tomorrow.


B360 Piobaireachhd (James R. Johnston Memorial Trophy)

1 Jonathan Greenlees, Glaschu.

2 Angus J Maccoll, An t-Òban.

3 Colin Campbell, Inbhir Nis.

B361 March, Strathspey and Reel (John T. MacRae Cup)

1 Colin Campbell, Inbhir Nis.

2 J. Decker Forrest, n t-Eilean Sgitheanach.

3 Jonathan Greenlees, Glaschu.

B362 Hornpipe and Jig (Argyllshire Gathering Quaich)

1 J. Decker Forrest, An t-Eilean Sgitheanach.

2 Cameron Macdougall, Neig.

3 James MacPhee, Inverness.

C130 March (16-18) (Royal Highland Fusiliers Cup)

1 Brìghde Chaimbeul, An Caol.

2 John Campbell, Àrd-sgoil Lourdes.

3 Donald C Stewart, Acadamaidh Baile nan Stiùbhartach.

C131 Strathspey and Reel (16-18) (Col. Murdoch MacTaggart, Bowmore, Memorial Trophy)

1 John Campbell, Àrd-sgoil Lourdes.

2 Donald C Stewart, Acadamaidh Baile nan Stiùbhartach.

3 Brìghde Chaimbeul, An Caol.

C108 March (13-15) (Roderick Munro Trophy)

1 Angus Finlay MacPhee, Inbhir Nis.

2 Finlay Cameron, Drochaid Ruaidh.

3 Eòghainn Peutan, Àrd-sgoil Phort Rìgh.

C109 Strathspey and Reel (13-15)

1 Finlay Cameron, Drochaid Ruaidh.

2 Angus Finlay MacPhee, Inbhir Nis.

3 Eòghainn Peutan, Àrd-sgoil Phort Rìgh.

C86 March (under 13) (Roderick Ross Memorial Trophy)

1 Eilidh Mòrag Nic a’ Phì, Acadamaidh Rìoghail Inbhir Nis.

2 Innes Munro, Bun-sgoil an Dùn Beag.

3 Eòsaph Caimbeul, An Caol.

C85 Chanter (under 13)

1 Molly Perkins, Sgoil Lionacleit.

2 Laura Robertson, Bun-sgoil Gàidhlig Lochabair.

3 Declan Malloy, Bun-sgoil Stafainn.


C118 (13-18) (Robert MacCallum Memorial Trophy)

1 Magnus Westwell, Ard-sgoil Coille nan Ridirean.

2 Hannah MacRae, An Gearasdan.

3 Rhona MacKintosh, Sgoil Chiùil Lochabair.

C83 (under 13)

1 Lachlan Murdo Kennedy, St Mary’s Music School.

2 Emma Morrison, Àrd-sgoil Dalziel.

3 (equal) Dòmhnall MacGriogair, Sgoil Ghàidhlig Glaschu, and Abbie Morris, Àrd-sgoil Ìle.


B342 Dr and Mrs Atholl Robertson (Oban) Trophy

1 Na Seann Dhaoine.

2 Na Daoine Eile.

3 Lochgoilhead Fiddle Workshops.

C176 (under 19)

1 Sgoil Chiùil Lochabair.

2 Cracte Leis.

3 (equal) Còmhlan-ciùil Bràghaid Albann and Gleus.

C176A (under 13)

1 Am Brag Mor.


C178 (under 19) (Smith Mearns Trophy)

1 Kyle Gordon Rowan, Àrd-sgoil Firrhill.

2 Connor Alasdair MacPhail, Balemartine.

3 William Campbell, Àrd-sgoil Inbhir Theòrsa.

C84 (under 13) (Daniel G. R. Burt Memorial Trophy)

1 Archie MacKechnie, Acadamaidh Dholar.

2 Calum Macdonald, Lochgilphead Campus.

3 Eòin Coinneach Cuimeanach, Àrd-sgoil Gheàrrloch.

C178A Traditional (under 19)

1 Kyle Gordon Rowan, Ard-sgoil Firhill.

2 William Campbell, Àrd-sgoil Inbhir Theòrsa.

3 Duncan Shirkie, Eilean Leòdhais.


C179 (Under 19) (Hebrides Haulage Trophy)

1 Duncan Shirkie, Eilean Leòdhais.

2 Catriona Bain, Sgoil MhicNeacail.

3 Annie Margaret Maclennan, Sgoil MhicNeacail.


C116 (13-18) (Margaret Hill-Boyle Memorial Trophy)

1 Alan Angus Rowan, Àrd-sgoil Firrhill.

2 Eilidh G Morrison, Sgoil MhicNeacail.

3 Magnus Westwell, Àrd-sgoil Coille nan Ridirean.

C81 (under 13) (Jenny M B Currie Kilt Pin)

1 Blythe Shand, Touch Primary School, Dunfermline.

2 Abigail Cavanagh, Sgoil Ghàidhlig Ghlaschu.

3 Evie MacLean-Yuille, Culbokie Primary School.