Boris Johnson strengthened his grip as front-runner in the race to become the next Conservative leader, while Dominic Raab was eliminated on the second vote.

Mr Johnson managed 126 votes in the second vote, 12 more than in the first round,  with Jeremy Hunt second with 46.

Michael Gove got 41, while Rory Stewart had 37 votes, Sajid Javid had 33 and Dominic Raab, the former Brexit secretary brought up the rear on 30.

The latest vote means that Mr Johnson now has 40% of the Conservative MPs' backing - when he had the support of around one in three of the MPs in the first round.

READ MORE: Conservative leadership race: Rory Stewart doubles his vote

It means that Mr Hunt, Mr Gove, Mr Javid and Mr Stewart join Johnson in the next round of voting.


Mr Hunt gained three more than in the first round, while Mr Gove and Mr Javid also increased their tally.

But it was Mr Stewart that made the biggest stride forward, nearly doubling his backing from 19 to 37 votes.

The surviving five candidates will take part in a live BBC debate in central London at 8pm.

READ MORE: Sajid Javid warns against Tory leadership becoming Oxford Union debate as MPs vote in second round

It came after it emerged four Scottish Tory MPs backed Boris Johnson's bid to be the Conservative party's next leader.

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine MP Andrew Bowie was the fourth Scottish Tory MP to come out for Mr Johnson.

Mr Bowie - an aide to current prime minister Theresa May - confirmed his support on Tuesday morning, having originally backed Matt Hancock.

Mr Johnson is the frontrunner, but Michael Gove remains the most popular candidate among Scottish Tory MPs.