Boris Johnson is presiding over his first meeting of his new Cabinet after a brutal cull of Theresa May's top team.

A quick succession of arrivals at Number 10 just before 8am for the first Cabinet meeting included Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab, Home Secretary Priti Patel, International Trade Secretary Liz Truss and Chancellor Sajid Javid.

As Brexiteer and new Leader of the Commons Jacob Rees-Mogg headed through the black door, asked what was in his folder, he replied, "not a great deal".

Also attending the first meeting of Johnson's overhauled Cabinet was newly installed Minister of State at the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government Esther McVey; Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Secretary Andrea Leadsom; Defence Secretary Ben Wallace; and new Scottish Secretary Alister Jack, who has replaced David Mundell.  

READ MORE: Ruth Davidson 'humiliated' after David Mundell sacked against her advice 

The new Conservative leader told the room it was "wonderful to see this new team assembled here reflecting, I think, the depth and breadth of talent in our extraordinary party".

"As you all know we have a momentous task ahead of us, at a pivotal moment in our country's history," he added.

"We are now committed, all of us, to leaving the European Union on October 31 or indeed earlier - no ifs, no buts.

"But we are not going to wait until October 31 to get on with a fantastic new agenda for our country, and that means delivering the priorities of the people."
Mr Johnson firmly stamped his authority on Government by installing Brexiteers into key positions.

And more than half of Theresa May's cabinet resigned or were sacked in a major overhaul of Government.

Mr Rees-Mogg, who as leader of the pro-Brexit Tory European Research Group (ERG) regularly proved a thorn in Mrs May's side, made his debut.

Having spent his prior career on the backbenches, he will now attend Cabinet meetings but Downing Street said he would not be a full Cabinet member.

Mr Raab returned to Cabinet as Foreign Secretary and effective deputy leader as First Secretary of State. He quit Mrs May's Government over her Brexit deal.
Ms Patel, who has advocated the return of capital punishment, was appointed Home Secretary.

READ MORE: May flip-flopped on no-deal Brexit because of fear for Union, says aide

She was previously forced to resign from Government by Mrs May over unauthorised contacts with Israeli officials.

Mr Rees-Mogg has denied Mr Johnson's new-look team was a "Leave takeover" and insisted the new PM was "bringing the country together".

But speculation has mounted that a general election is on the horizon because of the severity of Mr Johnson's clear-out and his installation of potentially divisive characters.

Mr Johnson could call a snap vote in order to break the deadlock in the House of Commons or a vote of no confidence could bring down his Government.

Former Tory leader Iain Duncan Smith said the Government should be preparing for an election but he does not expect one before October 31.

Chief Secretary to the Treasury Rishi Sunak told BBC Radio 4's Today programme: "We live in a parliamentary democracy, you can never rule out general elections in that sense."

Independent MP Nick Boles, who quit the Tories over Brexit, told the programme the party was morphing "into the Brexit Party in order to hold off Nigel Farage".

"What it establishes beyond all doubt is that the Conservative Party has now been fully taken over, top to bottom, by the hard right," he added.

"And those few elements remaining of the one nation, liberal conservative Cameron-style conservative, they are neutered captives in this Cabinet."

Mr Johnson will address MPs for the first time as Prime Minister in a Commons statement after he finishes Cabinet.

It is expected to be packed with optimistic sentiment and his plans for government.

Further middle-ranking and junior ministerial appointments are expected but the final Cabinet attendee was announced on Thursday.

Jake Berry was made minister of state at the Cabinet Office and the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government.