Wimbledon is back from Monday 28 June after a two year hiatus due to Covid-19, but who were the winners of the last tournament? 

The best tennis players in the world are set to descend on the prestigious grass courts to battle it out for the title of Wimbledon champion over the next two weeks. 

With Wimbledon last taking place in 2019, here's everything you need to know about the previous champions and whether they are trying to defend their titles...

Who won the Gentleman's  Wimbledon title in 2019? 

Novak Djokovic beat Roger Federer in 2019 to claim his fifth Wimbledon title in a gruelling five sets. 

Both Djokovic and Federer are set to return to the courts this year in seperate sides of the draw, meaning we could see another epic showdown on July 11. 

Who won the Ladies Wimbledon Title in 2019? 

Romania's Simona Halep came out on top against tennis legend Serena Williams to win her first Wimbledon title in 2019. 

However, Halep will not be playing to defend her title in this year's tournament due to a calf injury. 

Meanwhile, 2019 runner-up Serena Williams will be looking to win her 24th Grand Slam title. 

Who won the Gentleman's Doubles in 2019?

Colombian duo Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah won the Men's Doubles, defeating French pair Nicolas Mahut and Edouard Roger-Vasselin in five sets. 

The defending champions will return to the court next week seeking another title. 

Who won the Ladies Doubles in 2019? 

It was a straight sets win for Hsieh Su-wei and Barbora Strýcová, but only one of the duo will return to defend her title. 

Strýcová has since retired from tennis, so Su-wei will partner Elise Mertens for the 2021 tournarment. 

Who won the Mixed Doubles in 2019? 

Ivan Dodig and Latisha Chan won the title, however this year the duo have not entered the mixed doubles tournament. 

Instead they have respectively entered the male and female doubles where they will both seek to add another trophy to their cabinet. 

Who won the Gentleman's Wheelchair Singles title in 2019? 

Gustavo Fernandez from Argentina was triumphant in the men's wheelchair singles two years ago and will enter next week as the reigning champion. 

Who won the Ladies Wheelchair Singles title in 2019? 

Aniek van Koot beat the two-time defending champion Diede de Groot in 2019. Van Koot will aim to replicate her perfomrnace in this year's championships. 

Who won the Gentleman's Wheelchair Doubles in 2019?

Joachim Gérard and Stefan Olsson beat three time champions Alfie Hewett and Scotsman Gordon Reid in 2019. 

Who won the Ladies Wheelchair Doubles in 2019?

Singles finalists Aniek van Koot and Diede de Grootteamed quickly recovered from their match to team up and take the doubles trophy.