A long-established pub in Glasgow has closed its doors for good.

The Kelvin Dock on Maryhill Road had originally shut on a temporary basis at the start at the year.

There had been a licensed premises on the site since 1848, run by coach proprietor and spirit dealer William Abbot. 

The pub was named after a nearby dry dock on the Forth & Clyde Canal, which was constructed in 1790. It was last used for boat repair in 1962.

READ MORE: £11million flats development unveiled for 'vibrant' west end site

The Herald understands that the pub now faces demolition.

A Compulsory Purchase Order (CPO) was approved for 1794-1850 Maryhill Road in June 2022.  The CPO is in partnership with Maryhill Housing Association, who will deliver mixed-tenure affordable housing on the site. 

Whilst not included in the initial feasibility, The Herald understands that Maryhill Housing Association are undertaking a feasibility study of the site of the Kelvin Dock to be included in the final CPO proposal.