Prestonfield House in Edinburgh was the venue last night for one of the biggest events on the Scottish political calendar with the main prize claimed by a politician who has served at Holyrood since the Parliament’s inaugural year.

Dame Jackie Baillie MSP won Scottish Politician of the Year at The Herald’s Scottish Politician of the Year Awards in association with ScottishPower.

The Herald:

The award recognised her work in the frontline of politics, with her first high profile post as chair of Scottish Labour in 1997 and her election to the Scottish Parliament taking place two years later.

Baillie was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) earlier this year in recognition of her political and public service and claimed the key prize at last night’s ceremony in Edinburgh.

Among the other notable winners, Conservative MP Alister Jack was named Best Scot at Westminster. Fellow conservative, Jamie Greene MSP claimed the prestigious Donald Dewar Debater of the Year award – supported by Aiir Networks.

Michael Marra MSP was named One to Watch – Supported by ScottishPower, with the award coming just a day after the passing of his mother.

READ MORE: Dame Jackie Baillie named Herald Scottish Politician of the Year

There were also two awards for SNP rebel, Fergus Ewing MSP, who was named Community MSP of the Year and won the Politics in Business prize.

Patrick Harvie MSP claimed The ScottishPower Green Champion award, supported by ScottishPower.

Committee MSP of the Year was Kenny Gibson MSP.

The Public Campaign or Campaigner of the Year was won by the campaign for a public enquiry into Professor Sam Eljamel scandal, which was backed by Liz Smith MSP.

Councillor Katie Hagmann was the winner of Scottish Local Politician of the Year.

READ MORE: Herald columnist Brian Taylor awarded The Herald 240th Anniversary Award

Lifetime Achievement was won by Lord McFall of Alcluith, Lord Speaker of the House of Lords.

And there was a special award presented on the night, as part of the Herald’s 240th anniversary celebrations, marking Herald columnist Brian Taylor’s long and distinguished career in political journalism.

The Herald: COMMUNITY MSP OF THE YEAR Fergus Ewing

The Herald: LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT Lord McFall of Alcluith, Lord Speaker of the House of Lords

The Herald: PUBLIC CAMPAIGN OR CAMPAIGNER OF THE YEAR Campaign for a public enquiry into Professor Sam Eljamel scandal / Liz Smith MSP

The Herald: THE SCOTTISHPOWER GREEN CHAMPION Supported by ScottishPower Patrick Harvie MSP

The Herald: COMMITTEE MSP OF THE YEAR Kenny Gibson MSP and Finance Committee

The Herald: SCOTTISH LOCAL POLITICIAN OF THE YEAR Councillor Katie Hagmann 

The Herald: DONALD DEWAR DEBATER OF THE YEAR Supported by Aiir Networks Jamie Greene MSP


The Herald: BEST SCOT AT WESTMINSTER The Rt Hon Mr Alister Jack MP