Andy Murray is set to start as one of the shortest price favourites in history when the 10-strong shortlist for the 2013 BBC Sports Personality of the Year is announced on Tuesday.

This year's Wimbledon champion is a virtual certainty to claim the award, having finished in third place last year behind winner Sir Bradley Wiggins and Jessica Ennis.

The shortlist will be selected by a panel of experts with viewers voting for their winner on the night of the show, which will take place on December 15 at the First Direct Arena in Leeds.

Other likely contenders include jockey Tony McCoy, the 2010 winner, who rode his 4,000th career winner this month, and Mo Farah, who won double athletics gold at the World Championships in Moscow.

Tour de France winner Chris Froome and US Open champion Justin Rose are expected to make the cut, while Gareth Bale's dazzling performances for Tottenham - not to mention his world record transfer - make him football's leading contender.

James Anderson's 22-wicket haul in the first 2013 Ashes series could win him the cricket vote, and Ronnie O'Sullivan may earn a place on the list after his snooker comeback culminated in his fifth world title in May.

The BBC will be particularly keen to avoid the controversy which surrounded 2011's all-male shortlist, with Christine Ohuruogu likely to be included after winning the 400 metres world title in Moscow.

At least one of cycling world champions Becky James and Laura Trott could find themselves on the list, as could Non Stanford, who was crowned world triathlon champion in London.

There could also be a challenge from the nation's winter sports contingent, with Eve Muirhead leading Scotland to the world curling title and Shelley Rudman claiming the skeleton crown.

If successful, Murray will be the fourth tennis player to win the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award, and the first since Greg Rusedski beat Tim Henman to the title in 1997.

The shortlist of contenders will be officially unveiled during the One Show on Tuesday.