WATSONIANS will clinch the 2022 Super6 Sprint Series title with one match still to play if they defeat Ayrshire Bulls at Millbrae tonight.

The Edinburgh have been unbeaten through their previous five rounds of this campaign and will start this contest as hot favourites having come out on top against the same opposition at the same venue in their last outing a fortnight ago.

But even if Watsonians suffer their first slip-up of the campaign, they will have another bite at the cherry when they host Stirling County in their final match next weekend.

“We’re really excited for our first playoff game and there’s no getting away from the fact that there’s a lot at stake,” said head coach Fergus Pringle. “The Ayrshire Bulls are a class outfit and a very tough team to play against, especially on their home patch at Millbrae. 

“We are focused on being accurate and disciplined in everything we do and need to be more consistent across the whole game, if we are going to come out on top.”

The Watsonians pack has been bolstered by the release of Edinburgh duo Mesu Kunavula and Pierce Phillips, but Bills have been able to call on some professional expertise as well in the shape of hooker Grant Stewart.

Last weekend’s frustrating loss to Stirling County means that Bulls cannot now finish top of the table, but head coach Pete Horne stressed that playing for pride will be a powerful motivating factor for his team.

“The group were devastated at full time last week but as always turned up to training with the bit between their teeth, adamant to take the learnings and get better,” he said.

“Although our tournament is over, I know this group have too much pride to give anything but 100 percent against an unbeaten Watsonians.”

Ayrshire Bulls (versus Watsonians at Millbrae, Friday @ 7.45pm): Liam McNamara; T Glendinning, J Shedden, R Beattie, A Tait; M Minogue, C Jones; A Nimmo, G Stewart, M Scott, E Bloodworth, H Murray, Lewis McNamara, G Wilson, B Macpherson©. Subs: R Tanner, T Lambert,  C Henderson, E Bulger, J Knight, F Callaghan, T Jordan, E Mcarra, C Townsend, E Mcara.

Watsonians: D Coetzer; L MacPherson, L Berg, L Millar©, A Guthrie; J Baggott, R Brand; S Grahamslaw, C Davies, B Bratton, L Ball, P Phillips, M Kunavula, S Cecil, I Moody. Subs: E Young, A McWilliam, G Scougall, K van Niekerk, K Main, B Young, C Young, G Cannie.