Nick Montgomery has claimed he felt it wasn't to be for Hibernian at Ibrox after watching Rangers manager Philippe Clement control the ball on the pitch while it was still in play.

The Hibs manager was left bemused when Rangers were awarded a throw-in early in the contest after Clement controlled the ball despite appeals it was still in play.

And Montgomery called for consistency in decisions as he cited the red card shown to Derek McInnes for entering the field of play.

Discussing the incident on BBC Sportsound, Montgomery said: "I think everyone could see that the ball did not go out. Derek McInnes got sent off a couple of weeks ago for the ball actually going out and him stepping on the pitch so you want consistency on everything.

READ MORE: Rangers 4 Hibernian 0: Instant reaction to the burning issues

"I felt today when that's an incident...I don't think I'd ever step on the pitch and then control the ball.

"And if he had any doubt there is no way you step on the pitch but from where I was it didn't go out, the fourth official didn't think it went out and when that happens you probably think it's not going to be your day because at that point they've got 12 men on the pitch and that's illegal.

"Again, that's not why we lost the game but when that incident happened I was just confused as to how it was allowed but the worst thing about it was they get the throw-in.

"When you are at Ibrox you don't expect any favours but that's not within the laws of the game so that was disappointing and  I'm sure they will review that and be disappointed with the decision that they made."

Montgomery was also left puzzled over the decision to allow Rangers' second goal as Nico Raskin drilled into the bottom corner from range.

The Hibs manager was convinced there had been a foul on Joe Newell in the build-up but VAR did not call for a check from referee Don Robertson. 

Montgomery commented: "The second goal I really genuinely believed that there was a foul on Joe Newell. I have seen it again and I feel he has come through the back of his achilles to kick the ball.

"I honestly thought VAR would pick that up but it wasn't to be."