The highly anticipated PFA Scotland awards took place in Glasgow last night.

And as expected, it was Hearts talisman Lawrence Shankland who scooped up the top gong. 

Voted by his fellow professional players, the 28-year-old Scotland international was announced as the Premiership's Player of the Year.

The Jambos captain is within touching distance of finishing the campaign as Scotland's highest goalscorer. He has 28 so far this term - and it's that sort of form that will see the former Dundee United and Ayr United man on the plane to Germany with Steve Clarke & Co. this June.

He was nominated alongside Celtic attacking midfielder Matt O'Riley, and Rangers duo James Tavernier and Jack Butland.

Elsewhere, Kilmarnock's teenage protege David Watson was named the top flight's Young Player of the Year.

READ MORE: Why big picture is still bright for Hearts and Zander Clark

The 19-year-old was up against Motherwell's Lennon Miller, Dundee's Lyall Cameron and Rangers' Ross McCausland. On reflection, there is no surprise the award was scooped up by the midfielder, who enjoyed a stunning debut season at Rugby Park under the tutelage of Derek McInnes, scoring five goals in his 42 appearances.

John McGlynn picked up the coveted SPFL Manager of the Season title just a day after guiding Falkirk to an incredible invincible campaign in League One.

The Bairns finally got themselves back to the Championship with a sensational season in the third tier of Scottish football, winning every game bar three, which resulted in draws.

PFA Scotland awards in full: 

SPFL Manager of the Season: John McGlynn (Falkirk)

SPFL Premiership POTY: Lawrence Shankland

SPFL YPOTY: David Watson (Kilmarnock)

Championship POTY: Brian Graham (Partick Thistle)

League One POTY: Callumn Morrison (Falkirk)

League Two POTY: Gregor Buchanan (Stenhousemuir)

SWPL Manager of the Season: Jo Potter (Rangers)

SWPL POTY: Rachel Rowe (Rangers)

SWPL YPOTY: Mia McAulay (Rangers)

Goal of the Season: Rabbi Matondo (Rangers 3 Celtic 3)