Philippe Clement has been included as a candidate for the Scottish Football Writers' Association manager of the year.

The committee this morning announced the four-man shortlist for the end-of-season gong with the Rangers manager among the contenders.

Clement is joined by Kilmarnock manager Derek McInnes, Dundee boss Tony Docherty and Kohn McGlynn of Falkirk.

The Ibrox boss made the shortlist after an impressive start in Glasgow where he lifted the League Cup and guided Rangers back into title contention.

However, Celtic manager Rodgers did not make the shortlist - meaning the Celtic manager won't win the award which was won by Ange Postecoglou in 2022 and 2023.

McInnes has led Kilmarnock to fourth place in the Scottish Premiership with European football next season already secured. 

Docherty's Dundee have finished in the top six and were hopeful on European qualification too but their loss to St Mirren means that is now unlikely.

And McGlynn - who scooped the PFA manager of the year trophy - has led Falkirk to an uneaten season in winning League One this season.

READ MORE: Scottish football set for another Helicopter Sunday according to Burke

An SFWA update read: "The Committee have revealed the four-man shortlist for the 2024 William Hill SFWA Manager of the Year award.

"Former Celtic boss Ange Postecoglou lifted the prize in 2022 and 2023 and legendary Rangers manager Walter Smith leads the way with seven wins from his glittering career in the dugout.

"This season could see a new name on the trophy and the current Ibrox incumbent is in the running as Philippe Clement heads the shortlist. Dundee boss Tony Docherty and John McGlynn of League One champions Falkirk are also in the running, while Derek McInnes of Kilmarnock is looking to claim the title for the second time, having previously won it in season 2013/14 at Aberdeen.

"The winner will be announced ahead of our annual awards dinner on Sunday, May 19 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow. The shortlist for the coveted Player of the Year award will be released in due course."