Scottish broadcast journalist Bernard Ponsonby, pictured below, will host the 21st anniversary of The Herald Politician of the Year Awards. 

More than 500 guests will attend the event, organised by The Herald and sponsored by NVT Group, Royal Bank of Scotland, ScottishPower, Virgin Trains, Openreach and the Scottish Grocers’ Federation. 

It takes place in Prestonfield House, Edinburgh, a week today.

The awards mark the excellent work carried out at both Holyrood and Westminster and recognises politicians at a national and local level who have helped to shape events.

Hamish Fraser, Group Managing Director of NVT Group, said: “The Herald’s Politician of the Year Awards continue to be one of the most significant events on the Scottish political calendar. This year has been a monumental one for politics, which makes the 2019 event even more relevant than usual. We are looking forward to what we know will be a memorable evening celebrating Scottish politics.”


Brendan Dick, chairman of the Openreach board in Scotland, said: “It’s a fantastic celebration of the great work that goes on in communities, councils, committees and chambers across the land in what has been a tumultuous political year. 

“We look forward to finding out who has caught the judges’ eyes and wish everyone in the running for these prestigious awards the very best of luck.” 

Phil Whittingham, Managing Director of Virgin Trains, said: “We don’t envy the judging panel in weighing up this year’s nominations in such a challenging time for politics. We would like to congratulate all the worthy nominees on the shortlist and look forward to seeing the results.”

Keith Anderson, Chief Executive of ScottishPower, said: “As the Scottish Politician of the Year Awards approaches ScottishPower looks forward to supporting one of the highlights in the political calendar.  We wish all the nominees every success on the night. 

Malcolm Buchanan, Chairman of Scotland Board, Royal Bank of Scotland, said:“These awards recognise the important relationship that needs to exist between Scotland’s political, community and business spheres and this year’s shortlist is strong. We wish every finalist the best of luck.”

SGF chief executive Dr Pete Cheema added: “From the shortlists we can see each of the award categories has an outstanding group of nominees. We look forward to congratulating the winners at what will undoubtedly be an excellent event.”

To attend contact Lyndsay Wilson, Events Director on 0141 302 7407.
Full list of nominees: