This is the moment that Nicola Sturgeon was named the Scottish Politician of the Year for 2019. 

The First Minister was honoured for her work over the last 12 months at a ceremony at Prestonfield House Hotel.

It is the first time Ms Sturgeon has won the award since 2015, following on from previous triumphs in 2014, 2012 and 2008. 

READ MORE: Nicola Sturgeon named The Herald Scottish Politician of the Year 2019 

She saw off competition from Scottish Conservative leader Jackson Carlaw and Scottish Green MSP John Finnie – who was nominated for his success in getting legislation to introduce a ban on smacking introduced, as well as for spearheading controversial plans to allow councils to bring in a workplace parking levy.

The First Minister said: “Nice though this is, I think I probably speak for all the politicians in the room when I say we don’t come into politics to win awards, we much prefer winning elections.”

READ MORE: Scottish Politician of the Year 2019: Winners in full 

Ms Sturgeon added: “There is lots that divides us, we are all in politics for different reasons, regardless of that all of us come into politics to do the best for our constituents, and to do the very best we can for those we serve – in my case and the case of my party to stand up for Scotland and our right to choose our own future.”

READ MORE: In pictures: Scottish Politician of the Year 2019 

Ms Sturgeon was one of four winners for the SNP at the awards ceremony, with Joanna Cherry, Scottish Finance Secretary Derek Mackay and Glasgow City Council leader Susan Aitken all being recognised for their achievements.